Earlier today The Dispatch blog published a list of people who applied for one of the two open seats on Columbus City Council.

The list is actually pretty great and there are a number of people I think would be wonderful council members.

Obviously Kevin Boyce is at the top of the list. He’s already served 8 years on council and has an amazing amount of experience.

And I absolutely love Bob Fitrakis’s irreverent style of progressive activism. I know he’d bring some crazy new ideas to council (though his selection seems pretty unlikely).

Also add to the list Eric Myers from MADLAB, Michael Wayne Daniels from Outlook Columbus, Karla Rothan from Stonewall Columbus and of course Greg Schultz.

There are so many good people to choose from here. I don’t envy the council members who have to make the choice.

And while we’ll all soon be faced with a certain amount of disappointment and disillusionment as we watch our state devolving back into complete Republican control, it’s nice to know that my city still maintains some level of sanity in the choice of its leaders.

Here’s the complete list:

1) Douglas J. (D.J.) Williams, who filed by mail and whose application could not be found.
2) Michael Wayne Daniels, the publisher of Outlook Columbus
3) Marsha Zabecki, a former administrator at the Ohio Department of Mental Health
4) Jeffery Mayes, a retired postal administrator from Minneapolis
5) Jodelle Dawn Spruill, a high school home-ec teacher
6) Russell C. Goodwin Jr., a sales representative for a veterinary supply company
7) Reyahd D.J. Kazmi, a law student and former Obama organizer
8 ) Marian Harris, an outgoing state representative
9) Stefanie Lynn Coe, general counsel for International Industrial Cleaning Co.
10) Reggie McMillian, a merchandise handler for Limited Brands
11) Keith W. Hatton, a former manager for Grapevine Pizza
12) Joseph A. Stefanko, president of the Merion Village Association
13) David T. Donofrio, an intern with the Ohio Legislative Services Commission
14) Fran E. Dennis, president of The Dennis Group insurance agency
15) Melissa (Pierre-Louis) Peoples, a customer service supervisor for the Franklin County Clerk of Courts
16) Greg Schultz, the former deputy political director for the Obama campaign in Ohio
17) Brandyn L. McElroy, vice president of the Far South Area Commission
18) Lisa Freeman, a customer service representative at Nationwide Insurance
19) Zachary M. Klein, deputy chief of legal services for the Ohio Attorney General
20) Ian B. MacConnell, president of the University Area Commission
21) Nana Watson, chairwoman of the Near East Area Commission
22) Linda Stubbs, a member of the North Central Area Commission
23) Duffy D. McSweeney, an engineering associate in the Columbus Department of Public Utilities
24) Tony Eufinger, the assistant law director in Marysville
25) Michelle M. Mills, executive director of St. Stephens Community House
26) Kimber Perfect, communications director for the Ohio Department of Development
27) Karla Rothan, executive director of Stonewall Columbus
28) John E. Hykes, an administrator at the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
29) Catherine A. Girves, former vice president of the University Area Commission
30) Teresa Fowler, executive director for the Ohio chapter of Veterans and Military Families for Progress
31) Mark Noble, former vice chair of the Libertarian State Central Committee
32) David W. Paul, president of the Northland Community Council
33) Mayo T. Makinde, founder of Counseling and Encouraging Minority American Youths
34) Dan Stewart, outgoing four-term state representative
35) Jeffrey D. Porter, a lawyer with Kegler Brown Hill and Ritter
36) James Allan (Jay) Panzer, principal, Facility Strategies Limited
37) Kenneth A. Williams, vice president of the Ganther Place Community Association
38) Constance Gaddell-Newton, a lawyer with Fitrakis & Gadell-Newton
39) Robert J. Fitrakis, a Columbus State professor and a lawyer
40) Leslie J. Sawyer, a former director for the Ohio Board of Regents
41) Cheryl Bucy, a former finance director for New Albany and Powell
42) Eric Myers, founder and artistic director of MADLAB theater company
43) Cynthia L. Slate, an employee of the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
44) Kevin L. Boyce, Ohio treasurer and former two-term city councilman
45) W. Shawna Gibbs, member of the Columbus board of education
46) Jeffrey J. Scarpitti, a real estate agent
47) Christopher G. Harris, a client service professional for Chase bank
48) Anthony J. Celebrezze III, a deputy director at the Ohio Department of Natural Resources
49) Darren Thomas Grundy, an artist and former “subordinate workforce laborer.”